» » Shriekback - The Dancing Years
Shriekback - The Dancing Years flac mp3
The Dancing Years
Alternative Dance,Alternative Pop/Rock,Alternative/Indie Rock,New Wave,Post-Punk,Punk/New Wave,Dance-Rock
Date of release:
FLAC vers. size:
1216 mb
MP3 vers. size:
1717 mb
WMA vers. size:
1358 mb
Other formats
4.5 ★

The Dancing Years is not just a bad compilation but a downright deceptive one. From the outside, it appears to contain some of Shriekback's best songs, including hard-to-find ones like "Nerve" and "Petulant. It's not until you actually play it that you realize you've paid for re-recorded versions that put the songs through a brutal meat grinder, replacing the band's top-notch playing with simplistic programmed riffs and their innovative rhythms with cliched techno beats. A few easily obtainable album tracks are thrown in for good measure, along with a couple of "alternate" mixes that are indistinguishable from the originals. The only intriguing musical moments here are the long version of "Fish Below the Ice" - which is also on the far superior The Best of Shriekback Vol. 2: Evolution - and some live tracks from 1987 that include a lengthy, swirling "Feelers" and a delicate "Faded Flowers.

The Dancing Years, 1990. The Dancing Years, 1990. Fish Below the Ice, 05:51.

They were joined by Martyn Barker on drums in 1983

Oil & Gold, the third full-length Shriekback studio album, is widely considered the band's highest moment. Released in 1985 on Arista Records in UK and Europe, Australia and New Zealand and on Island Records in the United States, after 1984's Jam Science on Arista Records, Oil & Gold saw the band metamorphose from contemplative to rocking.

My Spine (Is the Bass Line).

Album The Dancing Years, Shriekback. Tracking list e i testi dell'album: The Dancing Years Data di pubblicazione: 10 maggio 2011. Tracking list e i testi dell'album: My Spine (Is the Bass Line).

Track List

Title/Composer Performer Time
1 My Spine (Is the Bassline) Shriekback Shriekback 5:10
2 Nerve Shriekback Shriekback 4:03
3 White Out Himsa / Shriekback Shriekback 4:18
4 Nemesis Shriekback Shriekback 6:04
5 Fish Below the Ice Shriekback Shriekback 5:51
6 Malaria Shriekback Shriekback 4:27
7 Feelers Shriekback Shriekback 6:47
8 Petulant Shriekback Shriekback 4:37
9 Deeply Lined Up Sound Marines / Shriekback Shriekback 7:07
10 Everything That Rises Must Converge Shriekback Shriekback 4:02
11 Shark Walk Shriekback Shriekback 3:53
12 Suck Shriekback Shriekback 4:54
13 Hammerheads Shriekback Shriekback 5:23
14 Faded Flowers Shriekback Shriekback 3:56


Barry Andrews - Engineer, Mixing, Producer, Remixing
William B. Gannet - Engineer, Mixing
Himsa - Composer
Richey James - Producer
Gavin MacKillop - Remixing
Carl Marsh - Remixing
Deborah Melian - Art Direction, Design
Timothy R. Powell - Engineer
Shriekback - Composer, Primary Artist
Sound Marines - Composer