» » Slocan Ramblers - Coffee Creek

Slocan Ramblers - Coffee Creek flac mp3

Slocan Ramblers - Coffee Creek flac mp3
Slocan Ramblers
Coffee Creek
Recording date:
December, 2014
Recording location:
Casa Wroxton Studio in Toronto, Ontario
FLAC vers. size:
1768 mb
MP3 vers. size:
1285 mb
WMA vers. size:
1568 mb
Other formats
4.5 ★

Stream Coffee Creek by Slocanramblers from desktop or your mobile device. 3 years ago 3 years ago. the slocan ramblers.

On their sophomore album Coffee Creek (2015), The Slocan Ramblers blend lightning fast and devilishly intricate instrumentals with sawdust-thick vocals. In the liner notes, producer Chris Coole breaks it down: What really impressed me while we were working on this album, was that, while they can pull off the precision and virtuosity that is at the backbone of bluegrass, they understand the power of the fragile moment in music. On Coffee Creek, they’ve done this by staying true to the rough and rowdy roots of the music. I love it – smokin’ bluegrass! – BBC Radio Edmonton Folk Fest Emerging.

If the Slocan Ramblers' first album, Shaking Down the Acorns, was an impressive debut, this second offering is pure gold. The Toronto-based band do all the right things on this recording. Recorded live off the floor, and co-produced by Chris Coole (The Foggy Hogtown Boys), Coffee Creek strikes that perfect modern bluegrass balance of a deep respect for tradition and an itch for exploration. With this album, the Slocan Ramblers are living up to their reputation as the Canadian bluegrass band to watch, and then some.

Album · 2015 · 13 Songs. Coffee Creek The Slocan Ramblers. More By The Slocan Ramblers.

The Slocan Ramblers are a Canadian bluegrass music group from Toronto, Ontario. They are most noted for their 2018 album Queen City Jubilee, which received a Juno Award nomination for Traditional Roots Album of the Year at the Juno Awards of 2019. Formed in 2011 and named for the Slocan Valley in British Columbia, the group consists of mandolinist Adrian Gross, banjo player Frank Evans, guitarist Darryl Poulsen and bassist Alastair Whitehead.

The Slocan Ramblers - Coffee Creek 03:14. The Slocan Ramblers - Pastures of Plenty, Honey Babe 06:53. The Slocan Ramblers - Galilee 03:29. The Slocan Ramblers - Call Me Long Gone 03:33. The Slocan Ramblers - Groundhog 02:51. The Slocan Ramblers - Elk River 03:43. The Slocan Ramblers - Lone Pine 03:50. The Slocan Ramblers - Rambling Sailor 03:42. The Slocan Ramblers - The Back 40 02:21. The Slocan Ramblers - Angeline 03:34. The Slocan Ramblers - Streamline Cannonball 03:12. The Slocan Ramblers - April's Waltz 03:30. The Slocan Ramblers - Mississippi Shore 03:15. Tony Green Orchestra. Simpler Times - Rock Creek Jug Band.

Coffee Creek is one of those albums you might find yourself returning to when the tired trappings of modern music demand something more honest and unaffected. Authenticity is a hard commodity to come by, and in the case of most modern music, it’s forsaken altogether. In this case, the group in question is the Slocan Ramblers, a Canadian collective whose name sounds as authentic as the rustic roots music that’s emanated from their grooves. They don’t just adapt bluegrass to their mantra; they devote themselves to it entirely, with the result being that they sound so authentic, they could easily pass for an Appalachian ensemble circa the ‘30s or ‘40s.

Track List

Title/Composer Performer Time
1 Coffee Creek Adrian Gross Slocan Ramblers 3:14
2 Pastures of Plenty/Honey Babe Frank Evans / Woody Guthrie Slocan Ramblers 6:53
3 Galilee Adrian Gross Slocan Ramblers 3:29
4 Call Me Long Gone Dave Evans Slocan Ramblers 3:33
5 Groundhog Traditional Slocan Ramblers 2:51
6 Elk River Alastair Whitehead Slocan Ramblers 3:43
7 Long Pine Adrian Gross Slocan Ramblers 3:50
8 Rambling Sailor Traditional Slocan Ramblers 3:42
9 The Back 40 Darryl Poulsen Slocan Ramblers 2:21
10 Angeline Alastair Whitehead Slocan Ramblers 3:34
11 Streamline Cannonball Roy Acuff Slocan Ramblers 3:12
12 April's Waltz Adrian Gross Slocan Ramblers 3:30
13 Mississippi Shore Alton Delmore Slocan Ramblers 3:15


Roy Acuff - Composer
Chris Coole - Liner Notes, Producer
Alton Delmore - Composer
Dave Evans - Composer
Frank Evans - Banjo, Composer, Group Member, Guitar, Vocal Harmony, Vocals
Adrian Gross - Composer, Group Member, Mandolin
Woody Guthrie - Composer
Darryl Poulsen - Composer, Group Member, Guitar, Vocal Harmony, Vocals
Ivan Rosenberg - Mixing
Slocan Ramblers - Arranger, Primary Artist, Producer
Nik Tjelios - Engineer
Traditional - Composer
David Travers-Smith - Mastering
Alastair Whitehead - Banjo, Bass (Acoustic), Composer, Group Member, Vocal Harmony, Vocals